Business and Economic Research Center • Jennings A. Jones College of Business • Middle Tennessee State University • Vol. 13 No. 1 2003

s

# PARTNERSHIPS FOR EXCELLENCE

Jennessee



FIFT INSURANCE Return

# Tennessee's **BUSINESS**

Vol. 13 No. 1 2003

Published by the Business and Economic Research Center (BERC) Jennings A. Jones College of Business Middle Tennessee State University Box 102 Murfreesboro, TN 37132 (615) 898-2610 kkulp@mtsu.edu

Sidney A. McPhee President Middle Tennessee State University

E. James Burton Dean Jennings A. Jones College of Business

David A. Penn BERC Director

Horace E. Johns Executive Editor

Sally Ham Govan Creative Director

#### WEB SITE

View our latest issue online: http://www.mtsu.edu/~berc

Tennessee's Business provides an exchange of ideas in the fields of economics and business among businesspersons, academicians, and government officials. The opinions expressed in the articles are not necessarily those of the Business and Economic Research Center, the Jennings A. Jones College of Business, or Middle Tennessee State University, but are the responsibility of the individual authors. The material may be reproduced with permission and acknowledgement of the source. Middle Tennessee State University, a Tennessee Board of Regents university, is an equal opportunity, nonracially identifiable, educational institution that does not discriminate against individuals with disabilities. Send address changes to Tennessee's Business, Business and Economic Research Center, P.O. Box 102, Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, TN 37132, (615) 898-2610, or kkulp@mtsu.edu.

Recipient of the 1991, 1996, and 2000 AUBER Award of Excellence in Publications



### **EDITOR'S NOTE**

his issue of *Tennessee's Business* highlights MTSU's nine chairs of excellence and the Jennings A. Jones College of Business's two endowed chairs. The following information is from the Tennessee Higher Education Commission's and MTSU's Web sites.

The Chairs of Excellence program began in the midst of the education reform and improvement measures passed by the General Assembly in the mid-1980s. This program, which brings eminent scholars to Tennessee public institutions and attracts research initiatives and private funding to our state, has resulted in an unprecedented level of donation to higher education from private and corporate sources.

- The Jennings A. Jones Chair of Excellence in Free Enterprise was established in 1986 for the purpose of promoting and developing an increased understanding of free enterprise to make students and area residents more knowledgeable about the forces that shape our lives and the well-being of this country.
- The purpose of the Jennings and Rebecca Jones Chair of Excellence in Urban and Regional Planning is to produce and disseminate information relevant to the planning needs of the midstate region. The benefactors believe visionary planning will improve our region and also produce efficiencies.
- The John Seigenthaler Chair in First Amendment Studies was instituted to honor Seigenthaler's lifelong commitment to free expression. The purpose of the chair is to provide programs of excellence centering on First Amendment protections of free press and free speech rights for the College of Mass Communication.
- The role of the Adams Chair of Excellence in HealthCare Services is interdisciplinary in nature, serving health and human service program areas in eight departments and four colleges. Its primary purposes are to support interdisciplinary scholarly activity, enhance health and human service education through cooperation and collaboration between the affiliated units, and develop and strengthen partnerships within the University and community as well as internationally.
- The Katherine Davis Murfree Chair of Excellence in Dyslexic Studies was established to inform the public about dyslexia, establish means by which school personnel (K-12) can be assisted in the identification and treatment of students with this condition, and contribute to the fund of knowledge about dyslexia through independent research.
- The National HealthCare Chair of Excellence in Nursing was established to influence nursing education, practice, research, and administration in Tennessee, particularly in the midstate area.
- The John C. Miller Chair in Equine Reproductive Physiology will provide support through applied research to solve reproductive problems in the horse industry as well as establish an industry-oriented public service program that conducts clinics and seminars to keep the industry current on techniques and technology.
- The Mary E. Miller Chair in Equine Health will assist the Reproductive Physiology Chair and network with veterinarians and schools to bring cutting-edge problem solving and teaching to the campus in horse health issues.
- The **Robert E. and Georgianna West Russell Chair of Manufacturing Excellence** works with undergraduate and graduate programs to assist in placing students in the workforce by improving curriculum areas and increasing the dialogue between industries and education regarding employment needs.
- The **Martin Chair of Insurance**, founded by a group of alumni and friends to upgrade and enhance MTSU's insurance curriculum, was named in honor of Thomas T. Martin, a very successful Murfreesboro underwriter for almost 60 years.
- The **Weatherford Chair of Finance** was established in 1986 to honor Jack Weatherford, one of Tennessee's most distinguished post-World War II bankers.

-Horace E. Johns, editor

On the cover: Kenneth W. Hollman; at right: John Seigenthaler

All photography courtesy MTSU Photographic Services unless otherwise indicated

## CONTENTS

John Seigenthaler Chair of Excellence in First Amendment Studies Sharon H. Fitzgerald 2

Weatherford Chair of Finance William F. Ford 5

National HealthCare Chair of Excellence in Nursing Suzanne Prevost 8

Martin Chair of Insurance Kenneth W. Hollman 10

Adams Chair of Excellence in HealthCare Services Martha Jo Edwards 14

Jennings and Rebecca Jones Chair of Excellence in Urban and Regional Planning Earl S. Swensson, FAIA 18

Equine Chairs of Excellence: Health and Reproductive Physiology David D. Whitaker 20

Jennings A. Jones Chair of Excellence in Free Enterprise Aubrey Harwell, Jr. 22

Robert E. and Georgianna West Russell Chair in Manufacturing Excellence Thomas J. Cheatham 24

Katherine Davis Murfree Chair of Excellence in Dyslexic Studies Diane J. Sawyer 26

The Dean's View: Focus on Excellence E. James Burton 29